A guide to events on our campuses.

Assembly Series

A tradition of convening thought leaders since 1953

McKelvey School of Engineering

Book Launch: 'Since 1948: Israeli Literature in the Making'

Wednesday, November 18 | 6:00 PM

Virtual Event

Coauthors Nancy E. Berg, Professor of Hebrew Language at Washington University, and Naomi B. Sokoloff, Professor of Hebrew and Comparative Literature at the University of Washington, will discuss their book "Since 1948: Israeli Literature in the Making."

In "Since 1948," scholars consider how recent voices have succeeded older ones and reverberated in concert with them; how linguistic and geographical boundaries have blurred; how genres have shifted; and how canon and competition have shaped Israeli culture. Charting surprising trajectories of a vibrant, challenging, and dynamic literature, the contributors analyze texts composed in Hebrew, Yiddish and Arabic; by Jews and non-Jews; and by Israelis abroad as well as writers in Israel. What emerges is a portrait of Israeli literature as neither minor nor regional, but rather as transnational, multilingual, and worthy of international attention.

This event is co-sponsored by The Department of Jewish, Islamic, and Middle Eastern Studies at Washington University, the Israel Institute, and Near Eastern Languages & Civilization at the University of Washington.

*Please note, the event will take place at 6 p.m. CT (7 p.m. ET and 4 p.m. PT).

To register for this event please visit http://bit.ly/Since1948 or select the Register Here.

Schools

Arts & Sciences

Topic

Humanities & Society

Website

https://artsci.wustl.edu/events/book-...

Department
Jewish, Islamic, and Middle Eastern Studies
Event Contact

nberg@wustl.edu

Speaker Information

Nancy E. Berg, Professor of Hebrew Language and Literature, will discuss her book Since 1948: Israeli Literature in the Making

Subscribe
Google Calendar iCal Outlook

Discussion